LANDOVER, Md. (AP) — Referee Jeff Triplette says the down marker was moved incorrectly on the Washington Redskins' last possession of a 24-17 loss to the New York Giants.

Speaking to a pool reporter after Monday night's game, Triplette says play was not halted to correct the down marker because it happened in the last two minutes and the Redskins — who were out of timeouts — would have been given "an unfair advantage."

On a second-and-5 play, Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III completed a pass to Pierre Garcon. The play gained 4 yards, making it third-and-1, but the down marker was shifted, indicating there was a first down. Washington coach Mike Shanahan says he asked an official for a measurement and was told it was first down.