Contact Us

Doty, Russell, DeGregory Among Top Softball Players in New York State

Section II was well represented on the state girls softball team recognized by the New York State Sportswriters and Coaches Organization for Girls Sports.

Robb North, flickr

Kayla Doty of Chatham earned the Class B Player of the Year honor while Alysa Russell of Mechanicville and Dani DeGregory of Greenwich were chosen as the Class C Player of the Year.

Chatham coach J.B. Brantley (Class B) and Greenwich coach Greg McGuirk (Class C) were named Coach of the Year.

Here is the list of the Section II players honored by the NYSSCOGS.



Kelly Lane (P, Colonie) 2nd team, Melissa Morgan (2B, Shenendehowa) 2nd team, Sammy Smaldone (C, Bethlehem) 3rd team, Caitlin Cooper (P, Columbia) 4th team, Taylor Ten Eyck (C, Guilderland) 5th team, Marisa Sholtes (1B, Colonie) 6th team, Erika Daigle (P, Shenendehowa) 6th team.


Lindsay Sullivan (P, South Glens Falls) 2nd team, Trisha Shepard (1B, South Glens Falls) 2nd team, Shannon Morrill (P, Hudson Falls) 3rd team, Erica McNaulty (P, Scotia) 4th team, Brooke Meader (C, Queensbury) 5th team.


Kayla Doty (P, Chatham) 1st team — Player of the Year, Karsyn Sawyer (3B, Chatham) 1st team, Michaela Smith (1B, Chatham) 2nd team

Nicole Wickham (P, Greenville) 3rd team, Alexis McComb (OF, Taconic Hills) 4th team, Erin Wadsworth (P, Ichabod Crane) 4th team, Emily Fuller (P, Granville) 5th team, J.B. Brantley (Chatham) is the Coach of the Year.


Alysa Russell (SS, Mechanicville) 1st team — Co-Player of the Year, Dani DeGregory (SS, Greenwich) 1st team — Co-Player of the Year

Rachel Quackenbush (P, Hoosick Falls) 2nd team, Sarah Heimbach (OF, Greenwich) 2nd team, Abby Maiello (2B, Mechanicville) 2nd team

Ali Ford (OF/P, Mechanicville) 2nd team, Whitney Kugler (OF, Hoosic Valley) 3rd team, Rachel Ambrecht (P, Greenwich) 3rd team, Amanda Gatt (P, Voorheesville) 3rd team, Morgan Anderson (P, Hoosic Valley) 4th team, Dani Hennel (P, Duanesburg) 4th team, Caitlin Sanders (2B, Duanesburg) 4th team, Carolyn Geddes (OF, Albany Academy for Girls) 5th team, Greg McGuirk (Greenwich) is the Coach of the Year.


Brittany Brayman (C, Hartford) 1st team, Kayla Bancroft (SS, Fort Ann) 2nd team, Alex Rollis (P, Loudonville Christian) 2nd team, Kaleigh Foran (3B, Fort Ann) 3rd team.


Best of 104.5 The Team

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Teammates quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Teammates contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.