There are some of you that are Yankee fans, who wear "pinstripe-colored glasses" 24/7 and will protest today's announcement from the Baseball Writers of America. However, for those of you who are open-minded and objective with your judgment on who wins MLB postseason awards, this story should come as a no-brainer.

It was announced this afternoon that Detroit Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander was a unanimous choice for the American League’s Cy Young Award. Verlander was named first on all 28 ballots cast by two writers in each league city for a perfect score of 196 points, based on the tabulation system used by the Baseball Writers of America.

The 28-year-old ace won the Triple Crown of pitching by leading the American League in victories (24), earned run average (2.40) and strikeouts (250). Verlander also led the AL in winning percentage (.828 based on a 24-5 record), innings pitched (251) and opponents’ batting average (.192).

Jered Weaver from the LA Angels was the only other pitcher named on all 28 ballots and finished a distant second. The rest of the top five in voting went as follows: James Shields from Tampa Bay in third, the Yankees' CC Sabathia in fourth and Tigers closer Jose Valverde in fifth.