Contact Us

MLB Managers Of The Year Announced

Joe Maddon
J. Meric, Getty Images

This afternoon, the Baseball Writers Association of America continued handing out their postseason awards in Major League Baseball. Today’s category was Manager of the Year for both the American and National Leagues: the winners were Joe Maddon of the Tampa Bay Rays and Kirk Gibson of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

According to the BBWAA’s official press release on its website, the 54-year-old Gibson received first-place votes on 28 of the 32 ballots and was the only manager from either league to be named on every ballot. The runner-up in the National League was Ron Roenicke, who led the Milwaukee Brewers to the NL Central division tiele. Meanwhile, the third-place finisher was Tony La Russa of the World Series champion St. Louis Cardinals.

As for the American League, the 57-year-old Joe Maddon was listed first on 26 of the 28 ballots and second on one other ballot. The Rays manager also won the award back in 2008, when he led Tampa Bay to its first and only World Series appearance.

The other first-place votes went to Jim Leyland of Detroit, who finished second in voting, and Ron Washington of the Rangers, who finished third overall. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow, as the BBWAA will announce the NL Cy Young Award winner.

Best of 104.5 The Team

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Teammates quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Teammates contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.