Seahawks Safety Kam Chancellor Crushes Vernon Davis [VIDEO]
Seattle Seahawks safety Kam Chancellor knocked San Francisco 49ers tight end Vernon Davis out of Sunday night’s game with a vicious, yet legal hit. Too bad the officials saw it differently.
Subscribe to 104.5 THE TEAM on
The Seattle Seahawks beat the San Francisco 49ers 42-13 on Sunday Night Football. Quarterback Russell Wilson turned in another solid performance. The rookie QB completed 15-of-21 passes for 171 yards with four touchdowns and one interception. Wilson also gained 29 yards on six rushes.
There was a controversial call at the end of the 1st quarter. Seahawks safety Kam Chancellor leveled 49ers tight end Vernon Davis on the second to last play of the quarter. The officials flagged Chancellor for hitting a defenseless receiver. The unnecessary roughness penalty gave the 49ers a 1st down. San Francisco eventually attempted a field goal that was blocked and returned 90 yards for a touchdown by Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman. The touchdown gave the Seahawks a 21-0 lead. Take that, officials.
Vernon Davis did not return after being ruled out with a concussion. The NFL needs to be extremely clear about hits on defenseless receivers. There is no clear-cut explanation as to what will draw a penalty or a fine. We know that helmet-to-helmet contact on a defenseless receiver is a no-no. Chancellor didn’t deliver a helmet-to-helmet hit though. It was a legal hit on a guy that didn’t see the hit coming. Is that what the penalty really is? Just don’t hit the guy who isn’t witnessing the oncoming hit approaching too hard or it’ll be a penalty? Defensive players need some clarification, NFL.
Brian Noe is the Brand Manager at 104.5 The Team, ESPN Radio in Albany, NY. Brian also hosts “The Noe Show” weekdays from 1-3 pm ET on WTMM.