The 2019 UAlbany Great Danes Football team have announced their 2019 schedule. The Great Danes start off with a big challenge in their first game against the Central Michigan Chippewas on August 29th. The home opener is the following Saturday against Bryant on Saturday, Sept. 7. We'll talk to head coach Greg Gattuso tomorrow and get his take on the season.

The Great Danes press release opens with this quote from Gattuso:

“We think it’s a great schedule,” said Greg Gattuso, UAlbany’s head coach. “With four non-conference games, we have a great opportunity to get our young quarterback going. And we have a lot of experience coming back. We’re hoping to start out of the game really strong. Central Michigan is great program and certainly will be a challenge, but we feel good about our opportunities in all four games.

“It’s of course a competitive schedule, with eight games in the CAA, one of the top league’s in the country. And the fact that we get to play six home games is great for our fans, too.”

Here is UAlbany’s full 2019 schedule:

Thursday, Aug. 29: at Central Michigan

Saturday, Sept. 7: vs. Bryant

Saturday, Sept. 14: at Monmouth

Saturday, Sept. 21: vs. Lafayette

Saturday, Sept. 28: vs. William & Mary*

Saturday, Oct. 5: at Richmond*

Saturday, Oct. 12: at Towson*

Saturday, Oct. 19: vs. Rhode Island*

Saturday, Nov. 2: vs. Maine*

Saturday, Nov. 9: at Delaware*

Saturday, Nov. 16: vs. New Hampshire*

Saturday, Nov. 23: at Stony Brook*

*:CAA game