UAlbany men's basketball has been invited to be a part of the 2012 Basketball Hall of Fame Tip-off Tournament, sponsored by the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference. The annual NCAA men's exempt tournament will take place the weekend of November 16th-18th at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut featuring eight schools in two four-team brackets. All teams will also compete in two campus round games.

The other seven teams scheduled to participate in this year's Tip-Off tournament are Loyola University Maryland (MAAC), Norfolk State University (MEAC), Ohio State University (Big Ten), Seton Hall University (Big East), University of Missouri-Kansas City (Summit League), University of Rhode Island (Atlantic 10) and University of Washington (Pac-12). Of the seven teams, UAlbany has only faced Seton Hall which was back on Jan. 7, 1925 with Seton Hall winning that contest.

The 2012 Tip-Off Tournament game schedule will be separated into two brackets. The Springfield bracket will include Albany, Loyola, UMKC and Norfolk State. The Naismith bracket will consist of Ohio State, Washington, Seton Hall, and Rhode Island. Game times and sessions for both rounds will be announced at a later date.

Here's what Great Danes head coach Will Brown had to say about this opportunity for his squad:

We are excited to be a part of the Hall of Fame Tip-Off Tournament. We will open the season with a very challenging schedule as our first 2 games in the event will be against Ohio State and Washington. The event will also give us the opportunity to visit the Hall of Fame and play 2 more games at Mohegan Sun. This will be a great experience for our program, athletic department, university, alumni, and fans.

The preceding release was provided by UAlbany Athletics.