Union men's hockey head coach Rick Bennett has been named one of three finalists for the Tim Taylor Award as ECAC Hockey's coach of the year, the league announced on Tuesday.

Joining Bennett as finalists for the award are Harvard head coach Ted Donato and Clarkson head coach Casey Jones. The winner will be announced at the league's awards banquet on March 15 in Atlantic City, NJ. The finalists and the winner were selected by voting by the 12 ECAC Hockey head coaches.

Under Bennett, Union earned its second consecutive Cleary Cup, capturing the ECAC Hockey regular-season title. No. 7/8 Union (20-7-7, 14-4-4 ECAC Hockey) has posted a 12-2-4 record in its last 18 ECAC Hockey contests, while earning the top seed and first-round bye in the league's tournament. Tabbed for second in both the Coaches' and ECAC Hockey Media Association Polls, the Dutchmen registered 76 goals in 22 conference games (3.45), while only giving up 38 goals (1.73), also tops in league play.

Bennett has recorded the most wins by a Union head coach in his first season, and is the only Union coach to record 20 wins in his debut year. Bennett also became the first Union coach to beat a non-conference top-five team in the USCHO.com poll when the Dutchmen earned a 3-1 at No. 5 Merrimack on Dec. 17. On Nov. 27, Bennett also led Union to a 6-3 win over No. 11 Michigan in the team's first ever trip to Yost Arena.

Union will host RPI in an ECAC Quarterfinal series set to begin with Game 1 on Friday night at 7:00 p.m..

The preceding information was provided by Jeffrey Weinstein, Assistant Sports Information Director for Union College Athletics.