
NYS Troopers Issue Over 14,500 Move Over Law Citations in 2026
The New York State Police are working to remind drivers the dangers that emergency responders, highway workers, tow operators and motorist with disabled vehicles face daily.
What is The Slow Down, Move Over Law in New York State?
New York's Slow Down, Move Over law first became active in January of 2011.
At first the law stated the drivers must slow down and move over (if safe to do so) if they saw emergency vehicles on the side of the road with flashing red lights.
The New York State Department of Transportation explains how to follow the Slow Down, Move Over law. It's simple, but in case you need the reminder
Drivers MUST use due care when approaching an emergency vehicle or hazard vehicle including police vehicles, fire trucks, ambulances, construction and maintenance vehicles and tow trucks.
The Move Over Law applies to both sides of the roadway, not just the shoulder on the right.
The Slow Down, Move Over law expanded in 2023. According to the NYS DOT, in 2023 the law changed to " requiring drivers to exercise due care to avoid all vehicles stopped on the roadway, including by changing lanes."
Over 14,000 Citations Issued to NY Drivers For 'Move Over' Violations
The Move Over law has been on the books for 15 years and yet some drivers still don't understand how dangerous it can be.
The New York State Police took to social media to share unsettling data. According to their records since 2025, "57 New York State Troopers have been struck while on roadside stop."
The statement continues:
Numerous Troopers suffered injuries. Every roadside stop puts our members just feet from passing traffic, and your actions behind the wheel matter.
With that, the New York State Police share that in 2026 alone they have issued "14,554 citations for Move Over Law violations."
In September 2026, the New York State Police held a 5-day Fall Safe Speed Initiative. During that time, Troopers issued 492 Move Over citations across the state.
What's The Fine For Not Following NY's Move Over Law?
If you're ticketed for not following the Move Over laws, it'll cost you.
According to attorney Ronald Shields Cook Move Over citations can cost you between $25 to $150 for your first offense.
A second offense, within a set period of time, will run you between $50 and $300. Then, a "third of subsequent offense" will be anywhere between $50 to $450.
For more on the New York State Slow Down, Move Over laws visit the New York State Thruway Authority website.
Top Reasons Police Officers Issue Tickets
Gallery Credit: Traci Taylor
9 License Plate Violations You Can Be Ticketed For In New York
Gallery Credit: Matty Jeff
Worst Towns For Traffic Tickets in New York State

