For the second week in a row, Jimmie Johnson's #48 Chevrolet was in Victory Circle as he edged out Brad Keselowski to win the AAA Texas 500 at the Texas Motor Speedway. It was Johnson's fifth victory of the season and the 60th of his career.

Both Johnson and Keselowski raced each other hard the entire race and had it not been for a late race caution caused by Mark Martin, It could have been a different story for the Blue Keselowski had an eight car length lead over Johnson at the time. Johnson would  have four fresh tires compared to Brad's two from a previous pit stop and have a great restart in the green-white-checker finish to take the victory over Keselowski.  Kyle Busch would take third followed by Matt Kenseth and Tony Stewart.

This was Jimmie Johnson's second career victory at Texas Motor Speedway the first coming in 2007. He  increased his point lead from two to seven points over Keselowski. Speaking of the standings, both Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kevin Harvick have officially been eliminated from championship contention.

Sprint Cup Standings

1.Jimmie Johnson 2,339

2. Brad Keselowski 2,332

3. Clint Bowyer 2,303

4. Kasey Kahne 2,281

5. Matt Kenseth 2,267

6 Jeff Gordon 2,267

7. Denny Hamlin 2,266

8  Tony Stewart 2,259

9.Martin Truex Jr. 2,259

10 Greg Biffle 2,256

11. Kevin Harvick 2,238

12. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 2,188

With two races left, the Sprint Cup Series heads next to Phoenix International Raceway for the AdvoCare 500 next Sunday. Television coverage begins at 2pm on ESPN.

More From 104.5 THE TEAM