It has been an amazing year for College Football, with a lot of surprises and just as many disappointments. One of the few things that has not surprised anyone is the season put together by Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, who began the season as the odds-on favorite to win the Heisman Trophy. Now, the Johnny Unitas Award winner will lead a group of five elite players to New York City this Saturday night to find out who will walk away as the winner of the 77th Heisman Trophy.

When the announcement is made this Saturday night in Manhattan, the projected #1 pick in next April's NFL Draft will be joined by Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, Wisconsin running back Montee Ball, Alabama running back Trent Richardson and LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu. The only repeat finalist this year is Luck, who finished second in voting last year behind Auburn quarterback and eventual #1 draft pick Cam Newton.

Here's some quick-hitting facts you need to know about each of the other four finalists for the most prestigious individual award in College Football:

  • Robert Griffin III is the first player from Baylor to receive an invite to the Heisman Trophy ceremony (Baylor has never had a player finish better than 4th in voting).
  • Trent Richardson is the second running back from Alabama  to be a finalist over the last three years; Mark Ingram went on to win the award in 2009.
  • Montee Ball has scored 38 touchdown so far this season for Wisconsin, sitting just 1 shy of tying the single-season record held by Barry Sanders.
  • Tyrann Mathieu, aka "Honey Badger," has made numerous game-changing players for LSU this season, including an 84-yard punt return for a touchdown during the first half of the SEC Championship Game against Georgia.

This year featured quite possibly the deepest field of potential candidates in the 77-year history of the Heisman. The most notable players that didn't make the final cut were three stellar quarterbacks: Kellen Moore of Boise State, Case Keenum of Houston and Matt Barkley of USC. Some people even made arguments for Oklahoma State quarterback Brandon Weeden, his teammate Justin Blackmon and Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson.

The presentation will be broadcast this Saturday night on ESPN, starting at 8 pm.

More From 104.5 THE TEAM