Once again, Shenendehowa wrestlers shined in the Section II state qualifier at the Glens Falls Civic Center this weekend.


Kevin Parker (99), Corey Ali (106), Zach Joseph (120), Nick Kelley (132), Dave Almaviva (138) and Tony Fusco (195) finished first in Division I (large schools) competition and now will prepare for the state tournament scheduled at The Times Union Center in Albany, Feb. 24-25.

Columbia featured three winning titles including Matt Greene (126), Evan Wallace (145) and Angelo Kress (152).

In Division II (small schools), four Hudson Falls matmen earned titles. Kyler Harrington (113), Noah Valastro (126), Geno Brancati (145), and Aaron Dudley (160) were first-place finishers.

John Diekel (138) and Zach Diekel (195), both of Whitehall, picked up championships.

In one of the most exciting matches, Cory Quintana of Mohonasen beat Cole Lampman of Shenendehowa, 5-4, in the second overtime of their 285-pound title match.

Section II champions

Division I

99- Kevin Parker (Shenendehowa), 106-Corey Ali (Shenendehowa), 113-Brandon Lapi (Amsterdam), 120-Zach Joseph (Shenendehowa), 126-Matt Greene (Columbia), 132-Nick Kelley (Shenendehowa), 138-Dave Almaviva (Shenendehowa), 145-Evan Wallace (Columbia), 152-Angelo Kress (Columbia), 160-Connor Sutton (LaSalle), 170-Stephen Lumley (South Glens Falls), 182-Matt Lashway (Queensbury), 195-Tony Fusco (Shenendehowa), 220-Jon Babson (LaSalle), 285-Corey Quintana (Mohonasen).

Division II

99-Luis Weierbach (Hoosick Falls), 106-Carter Merecki (Salem), 113-Kyler Harrington (Hudson Falls), 120-Zach Marcel (Corinth), 126-Noah Valastro (Hudson Falls), 132-Curt Rowley (Duanesburg), 138-John Diekel (Whitehall), 145-Geno Brancati (Hudson Falls), 152-Nick Gallo (Schalmont), 160-Aaron Dudley (Hudson Falls), 170-Brad Burns (Hoosick Falls), 182-Tyler Morris (Salem), 195-Zach Diekel (Whitehall), 220-Joe Sprung (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), 285-Alex Soutiere (Ravena).

Section II Coaches of the Year

Class A - Division I, Class I: Kris West (Saratoga), JV Coach of the Year-Gene Staulters (Ballston Spa)

Class B - Division I, Class 2: Rory Johnson (Queensbury); JV Coach of the Year-Vince Polsinelli (Averill Park)

Class CC - Division II, Class I: Henry Mormile (Ravena); JV Coach of the Year-Buck Anderson (Schuylerville)

Class C - Division II, Class 2: Mike Sartin (Galway); JV Coach of the year-Joe Culbert (Galway)

Class D - Division II, Class 3: Jeff Vogel (Berne-Knox-Westerlo); JV Coach of the Year- Frank Fronhofer Sr. (Salem)

Section II Team Sportsmanship: Bethlehem (Division I), Cohoes (Division II)

Dana Charpentier was recognized for excellence as a longtime Section II wrestling official.

Section II Hall of Fame inductee: Paul Diekel of Whitehall..state champion and All-American at Lehigh University.



More From 104.5 THE TEAM