The San Antonio Spurs’ Kawhi Leonard, who became only the sixth forward to lead the NBA in steals per game since the league started tracking the statistic 42 years ago, is the recipient of the 2014-15 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, the NBA announced today. He becomes the first Spurs player to win the award since David Robinson in 1991-92.

Leonard garnered 37 first-place votes and 333 total points from a panel of 129 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. He edged the Golden State Warriors’ Draymond Green, who tallied 45 first-place votes and 317 points. The Los Angeles Clippers’ DeAndre Jordan finished third with 261 points (32 first-place votes). Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received. -Via NBA


PLAYERTEAM1st Place (5 Pts) 2nd Place (3 Pts)3rd Place (1 pt)Total Points
Kawhi LeonardSan Antonio 374125333
  Draymond GreenGolden State452517317
DeAndre JordanL.A. Clippers322526261
Anthony DavisNew Orleans11157107
Rudy GobertUtah241133
Andrew BogutGolden State061331
Tony AllenMemphis141229
Tim DuncanSan Antonio11412
Michael Kidd-GilchristCharlotte0239
Jimmy ButlerChicago0217
Marc GasolMemphis0217
Joakim NoahChicago0114
  LeBron JamesCleveland0033
Trevor ArizaHouston0103
  Patrick BeverleyHouston0011
DeMarre CarrollAtlanta0 1 
  Nerlens NoelPhiladelphia0011
  Chris PaulL.A. Clippers0011
  Hassan WhitesideMiami001 

More From 104.5 THE TEAM