Union College sophomore goaltender Troy Grosenick was named one of 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, presented annually to the top men's college hockey player, the Hobey Baker Selection Committee announced on Thursday. Grosenick is the first student-athlete in program history to be named a finalist for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

Grosenick, who entered the season with just one career start, is in the midst of a stellar campaign for the Dutchmen. In his first year as a starter. Grosenick ranked first in conference action in goals-against average (1.60); save percentage (.940); and win percentage (.767).

At 18-5-3, Grosenick, who has started 28 of 36 games, is third in the nation in goals-against average (1.66); save percentage (.963); and goals against average with a 1.66 mark and is third in the country in save percentage (.937). His five shutouts on the season matches Kris Mayotte '06 for the single-season school record. Grosenick is on pace to shatter school single-season goals-against average and save percentage records established by Keith Kinkaid (2010-11) and Trevor Koenig (1996-1997), respectively. Grosenick earned the Ken Dryden Award as ECAC Hockey Goaltender of the Year for his efforts.

Grosenick joins nine other candidates for the Hobey Baker Award, including the following, listed alphabetically: Spencer Abbott (Maine), Jack Connolly (Minnesota-Duluth), Brian Dumoulin (Boston College), Shawn Hunwick (Michigan), Tim Kirby (Air Force), Torey Krug (Michigan State), Justin Schultz (Wisconsin), Austin Smith (Colgate) and Reilly Smith (Miami).

The Top Ten list is compiled from balloting from all 58 Division I college hockey head coaches and by an on-line fan ballot at: hobeybakeraward.com. The Top Ten list will now be voted on by the 23-member Selection Committee and a second round of fan balloting, to determine the Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists (to be announced March 29, 2012) for this year's Hobey Baker Award.

The preceding information was provided by Jeffrey Weinstein, Assistant Sports Information Director for Union College Athletics.