The Amsterdam High School wrestling team placed second with 173.5 points in the Big 10 Invitational on Saturday.


New Rochelle won the event with 186 points, while Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake took third at 173 and Queensbury fourth 168.5.

Other area teams and their finishes: 6. Guilderland, 97; 9. Averill Park, 83; 11. Albany Academy, 59; 12. Schalmont, 58; 13. Cobleskill-Richmondville, 45; 14. Lansingburgh, 42; 16.Shaker, 25; 17. Albany, 23, and 18. CBA, 3.

Mike Garrison of Amsterdam earned first place in the 160 pound category. He pinned Franky Nassivera of Queensbury, 2:53. Burnt Hills' Nolan Hale (120) won an award for the most falls in the least amount of time.

Individual results:

First and second places

106-Mike Lainhart (Guilderland), second; 113-Brandon Lapi (Amsterdam), second; 120-Casey Jones (Queensbury), first; 126--Gary Goodermote (Averill Park), second; 132-Joey Butler (Burnt Hills), first; 138-Jake Ashcraft (Burnt Hills), first; Cody Mosley (Averill Park), second; 145-Gaetano Lanzi (Amsterdam), second; 152-Nick Gallo (Schalmont), first; James Marquez (Amsterdam), second; 160-Mike Garrison (Amsterdam), first; Franky Nassivera (Queensbury), second; 170-Mike Hewitt (Queensbury), first and won the MOW for heavier classes; 182-Brandon Giaquinto (Amsterdam), second; 195-Race Viedt (Burnt Hills), second; 285-Chris Rodriguez (Amsterdam), second.

Third and fourth places

99-Josh LoGuidice (Guilderland), third; 106-Tyler Wood (Queensbury), third; 113-Brandon Winchip (Queensbury), third; Paul Lambert (Schalmont), fourth; 120-Nolan Hale (Burnt Hills), third; 126-Drew Oligney (Lansingburgh), third; Zeke Thomas (Albany Academy), fourth; 138-Cam Milliken (Albany Academy), third; Dal Orengo (Amsterdam), fourth; 145-Jake Hatton (Albany Academy), third; Tyler Moses (Averill Park), fourth; 152-Evan Myers (Queensbury), third; Rob Catherine (Burnt Hills), fourth; 170-Mike Green (Cobleskill-Richmondville), third; Darion Jehle (Burnt Hills), fourth; 182-Derrick Knight (Cobleskill-Richmondville), fourth; 195-Nate Myers (Queensbury), third; 220-Ken Garcia (Amsterdam), third.

In the Corinth Invitational, the Shenendehowa B squad was victorious with 165 1/2 points to edge out the host team, 158. Hoosick Falls won the Ken Baker Classic at that school's tournament with 154 1/2 points to beat Salem, 150.

Evan Wallace collected his 200th career win and Matt Greene won for the 150th time to lead Columbia to its own tournament championship.

The class sectionals will be held Saturday, Feb. 4. The sites are as follows: A-Colonie, B-Queensbury, CC-Ravena, C-Galway and D-Berne-Knox-Westerlo.

The state qualifier is scheduled for the Glens Falls Civic Center Feb. 10-11 and the state tournament at Times Union Center, Feb. 24-25.

The top six finishers in classes A and B qualify for the Division I (large schools) and the top four finishers in CC, C and D for Division II (small schools).

A final note, the Suburban Council regular season finale features two unbeatens meeting as Columbia visits Shenendehowa on Wednesday.

Article by Mike Collar


More From 104.5 THE TEAM