Despite Deshaun Watson's best efforts, Alabama could not be denied on Monday night, winning its fourth national championship in the last seven years by a score of 45-40 on the field in Glendale, Ariz.

Heisman Trophy finalist Watson threw for 405 yards and ran for 73 more but in the end, it was the Heisman Winner Derrick Henry who walked away with the title.

Alabama celebrates a touchdown against Clemson (Getty Images).

Henry had 36 carries for 158 yards and three touchdowns. Jake Coker threw for 335 yards and two scores for the Crimson Tide.

The key moment of the game came with the score 24-24 when Alabama used an onside kick to turn the momentum completely.

Bama turned that into a touchdown and a 31-24 lead. After Clemson kicked a field goal to pull within four, Alabama returned the ensuing kickoff for a touchdown to make it 38-27.

Clemson continued to fight though until the end, losing by just five.

For 'Bama head coach Nick Saban, it is his fifth title overall. He won one at LSU.