Major League Baseball has announced their winners for the American and National League Cy Young Award this evening. After the votes were tabulated from thirty sportswriters from around the country, Max Scherzer won in the National League while Rick Porcello was the winner in the American League. Porcello led the majors in wins this season with twenty two and also had the best strikeout to walk ratio of any starting pitcher. Porcello's Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians in the divisional round of the playoffs. Porcello did not receive even a majority of first place votes but his total of 137 points was four more than second place finisher Justin Verlander.

Max Scherzer becomes just the sixth pitcher in Major League baseball history to win the Cy Young award in both leagues. Scherzer won the award as a member of the Detroit Tigers in 2013. This season Scherzer led the National League in wins and strikeouts. Scherzer grabbed twenty five of a possible thirty first place votes. Later this week, Major League Baseball will announce the league winners for the Most Valuable Player award