For the first time since 2013, the Baseball Writers Association of America did not elect anyone to the Hall of Fame. Meanwhile, the Era Committee has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic meaning there will NO new Hall members for the first time since 1960 according to so Yankee legend Derek Jeter and the rest of the class of 2020 that was postponed from last summer will get their time alone on stage at Cooperstown.

With Shilling, Barry Bonds, and Roger Clemens being left out, Derek Jeter and Larry Walker from the BBWAA ballot, and Ted Simmons and the late Marvin Miller from the Modern Baseball Era committee vote won't have to share the stage at Cooperstown this summer, which honestly seems right to me. Jeter and Walker have never been a part of any accusations or controversy. So them being forced to wait a year just for cheaters and possibly the most politically incorrect man in baseball doesn't seem right. At least now the focus will be on the achievements of Jeter, Walker, Simmons, and Miller, not the dark clouds surrounding the others.

Hopefully, we'll see you live for your induction into the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown Derek "The Captain" Jeter!

BBWAA Hall of Fame Press Conference
Getty Images

CHECK IT OUT: 100 sports records and the stories behind them

More From 104.5 THE TEAM