JG3 joins an impressive list of athletes who have won the award in the past. The previous winners include:

2007-08 — Terrelle Pryor, Jeannette (Pa.): Football, basketball
2008-09 — Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis (Austin, Texas): Football
2009-10 — Dorial Green-Beckham, Hillcrest (Springfield, Mo.): Football, basketball, track and field
2010-11 — Kasen Williams, Skyline (Sammamish, Wash.): Football, basketball, track and field
2011-12 — Anthony Alford, Petal (Miss): Football, baseball
2012-13 — Derrick Henry, Yulee (Fla.): Football
2013-14 — Patrick Mahomes, Whitehouse (Texas): Football, basketball, baseball
2014-15 — Kyler Murray, Allen (Texas): Football, baseball
2015-16 — Lonzo Ball, Chino Hills (Calif.): Basketball
2016-17 — Tim Tawa, West Linn (Ore.): Football, basketball, baseball
2017-18 — Jordyn Adams, Green Hope (Cary, N.C.): Football, baseball

What does an athlete from Section 2 winning this award mean for the area? What are your expectations for JG3 when he plays for Syracuse basketball next season? Let us know below.

More From 104.5 THE TEAM