For the second straight season, UAlbany senior attackmen Lyle Thompson has been named the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association Most Outstanding Player.

Justin Edmonds, UAlbany Athletics
Justin Edmonds, UAlbany Athletics

Thompson helped the Danes advance to the NCAA quarterfinals for the second consecutive season. UAlbany fell to Notre Dame last weekend by a score of 14-10.

Thompson's 121 points this season was the second-highest scoring season in collegiate history. He had 52 goals and 69 assists and registered multiple-points in each of UAlbany's 19 games.

He led all of Division 1 with 6.39 points per game.

Thompson is also up for the Tewaaraton Award, the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy. After splitting the award last year with his brother Miles, Thompson would become the first player ever to win the award in two consecutive seasons.

Here are the rest of the USILA Major Awards for this season:

2015 USILA Major Award Winners
--Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award (Most Outstanding Player): Lyle Thompson, UAlbany
--Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Award (Most Outstanding Midfielder): Myles Jones, Duke
--Lt. Col. Jack Turnbull Award (Most Outstanding Attackman): Kevin Rice, Syracuse
--Ens. C. Markland Kelly Jr. Award (Most Outstanding Goalkeeper): Kyle Bernlohr, Maryland
--William C. Schmeisser Award (Most Outstanding Defenseman): Matt Landis, Notre Dame

More From 104.5 THE TEAM