Adam Warren’s Bizarre Save
The Yankees walloped the Rangers last night by a score of 21-5....
More remarkable? The Yankees were down 5-0 after the first inning and came back to put up three unanswered touchdowns.
And more remarkable than that? Adam Warren earned the save in a 16-run game.
What the what? As Armen would say...
We head to the official MLB.com rulebook for that explanation.
Rule 10.20 in the Official Rule Book states:
Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions:
(1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and
(2) He is not the winning pitcher; and
(3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions:
- (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or
- (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces; or
- (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.
So because Warren threw the final three innings in the game, he can get the save.
It's his first of the year.