A newly formed, independent collegiate baseball league (ICBL) announced on Thursday night they will have a four-team league this summer. The season will begin on July 6th and finish on August 13th.

The majority of northeast collegiate level leagues have canceled their 2020 season due to COVID-19. There have been many issues that forced many to cancel, the biggest challenge was the inability to host players due to safety precautions.

The ICBL has four franchises including; Albany Dutch, Albany Athletics, Amsterdam Mohawks, and Glens Falls Independents. The season will be a total of 30 games that will be broken up by three doubleheaders a week (Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, or Saturdays). 



"The ICBL will have a focused effort on the safety and health of its teams by implementing numerous protocols this season including a certified athletic trainer every game, sanitized baseballs during games, sanitized dugouts after every game."

When it comes to fans being allowed in, it will none will be permitted.

"Per state guidance, the ICBL will allow participating players up to two family members per game in attendance."

The ICBL will only be an active league for the 2020 summer, being the only collegiate level league in the Greater Capital Region to play this summer. This independent league will be providing a chance for many college athletes who have been sidelined.

More From 104.5 THE TEAM