Brett Favre along with twenty four other former players were announced as the semi-finalists for the 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Favre joins former offensive lineman Alan Faneca and former wide receiver Terrell Owens as the only first year eligible candidates who made the semi-finalist list. The only twenty two semi-finalists include:

Morten Anderson

Steve Atwater

Tony Boselli

Isaac Bruce

Don Coryell

Roger Craig

Terrell Davis

Tony Dungy

Kevin Greene

Marvin Harrison

Torry Holt

Joe Jacoby

Edgerrin James

Jimmy Johnson

Mike Keen

Ty Law

John Lynch

Kevin Mawae

Karl Mecklenburg

Sam Mills

Orlando Pace

Kurt Warner

The twenty five semi-finalists will be reduced to fifteen finalists in January. That list increases to 18 finalists with the inclusion of the recommended nominees of the Hall of Fame's Contributors and Seniors Committees. The 2016 Senior Finalists are Ken Stabler and Dick Stanfel  The 2016 Contributor Finalist is former San Francisco 49ers owner  Edward DeBartolo Jr. There is no set number on the amount of Modern Era players that can be inducted per class but the usual average sits anywhere between four to eight players per class. The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2016 will be announced during  a two-hour awards special to air nationally the day before the Super Bowl at 9pm eastern. The 2016 induction ceremony is scheduled for August 6th in Canton, Ohio.

More From 104.5 THE TEAM