Mike Layman connected on two goals and an assist and Nick Winters had two goals to lead Saratoga Springs past Shenendehowa, 5-1, to win the Section II Hockey Division I championship Thursday night at Messa Rink (Union College).


Brett Merriman scored the other goal while Brendon Wormley supplied two assists to help the Blue Streaks raise their record to 17-6, and advance to regional play.


Ryan Bourgeois had a tremendous effort in goal for Saratoga with 36 saves while his counterpart, Ryan Walter stopped 26 shots.


Brandon Mortka delivered the lone goal on the Plainsmen side.


It marks the third straight sectional title for Saratoga which is ranked seventh in the latest state Division I poll.




The Section II Indoor Track Championships were held recently with some impressive performances.


Lindsey Therrien won three events (55 meter hurdles, long jump and triple jump) to lead Fonda-Fultonville to the Division IV title. In the boys race, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons outdistanced Fonda-Fultonville, 122-115, for the championship.


Scotia-Glenville captured the Division 3 boys crown while Emma Willard prevailed on the girls side.


The Division I competition saw Shaker win the boys side and Saratoga Springs took the spotlight for girls. Individually, Kyle Plante of Colonie starred in the 55-meter dash, 55 hurdles and 300 meters.


And Division II, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake finished first in the boys race and Academy of the Holy Names, in girls.Unfortunately, the Hoosick Falls boys bowling season has ended on a sour note.




Because it used two ineligible eighth-graders in the sectionals, Hoosick Falls lost its Section II C-D boys bowling championship and a berth in the state tournament.

It was a matter of Hoosick Falls not filling out the proper paperwork required when a seventh- or eighth-grader competes in a varsity sport. As a result, Lansingburgh (Class B champions) will represent the section in the state event.

Senior Joe Wolfrum (1,346) will be permitted to compete in the state tournament as one of the top six individual scorers in the section. Hoosick Falls won the Class C-D title Friday, Feb. 10. The Panthers posted a 6,060 pinfall, more than Class A champion Shenendehowa (5,934) and Class B winner Lansingburgh (6,005). Fort Edward (5,726) is the Class C-D winner.




The latest New York State Sportswriters Association polls:


In boys basketball, AA-8. CBA, 14. Troy; A-11. Albany Academy, 22. Green Tech; B-1. Watervliet, 17. Mekeel Christian Academy; C-9. Hoosick Falls, 19. Greenwich; 20. Lake George; D-4. Argyle, 14. Sharon Springs.


-In girls basketball, AA-9. Shaker, 12. Shenendehowa, 18. Colonie, 23. Albany; A-3. Averill Park, 10. Holy Names, 13. Scotia-Glenville, 25. Mohonasen; B-1. Watervliet, 24. Tamarac, 25. Cohoes; C-3. Hoosic Valley, 4. Maple Hill, 24. Berne-Knox-Westerlo, 25. Voorheesville; D-5. Fort Edward, 8. Argyle, 11. Heatly, 24. Fort Ann.


In ice hockey, Division I-7. Saratoga; Division II-14. Glens Falls.


In wrestling (final), large schools-2. Shenendehowa, 14. Queensbury, 15. Columbia, 20. Colonie; small schools-8. Hudson Falls, 20. Salem.