I am not sure anyone would have any qualms with this award presentation. Well maybe our own Jay Sanin or Brian Cady, two Irish haters.

Brian Kelly, who has led the Irish to a national championship opportunity out of nowhere and an undefeated season, wins AP Coach of the Year. Kelly received 25 votes, which is one more than the five coaches combined behind him.

My only itch on the award is how Bill Snyder, head man at Kansas State who lost just one game and had his team on the verge of an undefeated season and again from nowhere, finished fifth.

Bill O'Brien, who did a remarkable job taking over a program in near ruin as he did for Joe Paterno at Penn State, finished second behind Kelly with 14 votes. David Shaw, who did a real fine job at Stanford using mostly a freshman QB and was rewarded with a new contract extension, finished third.

The bottom three of the top six were, in order, Kevin Sumlin of Texas A&M finished fourth. He also coached up the Heisman winner in Johnny Manziel, the first freshman to win the award ever. Snyder as mentioned finished fifth. I would dispute that and I have never been a Snyder fan. Nick Saban who suffers from high expectations as far as awards go finished sixth. His Crimson Tide of course battle Notre Dame for the national championship on November seventh in Florida

More From 104.5 THE TEAM