Major League Baseball announced this year's Silver Slugger awards winners and just one New York player has won the award. Mets outfielder Yoenis Cespedes won the award as a representative for the National League outfield. A Silver Slugger award is voted on by coaches and managers to reward who they believe is the best offensive producer in both leagues. Cespedes finished with a two eighty average along with thirty one home runs, eighty six runs batted in and seventy two runs scored. Cespedes may not return as a New York Met for the 2017 season and beyond. Currently Cespedes is a free agent and is likely to draw interest from other Major League baseball teams. Cespedes opted out of his contract with the Mets that would have paid him forty seven million dollars over two years. Below is the list of other Silver Slugger award winners.

AL: Salvador Perez, Kansas City Royals
NL: Wilson Ramos, Washington Nationals

AL: Miguel Cabrera, Detriot Tigers
NL: Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs

AL: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros
NL: Daniel Murphy, Washington Nationals

AL: Josh Donaldson, Toronto Blue Jays
NL: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies

AL: Xander Bogaerts, Boston Red Sox
NL: Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers

AL: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels
AL: Mark Trumbo, Baltimore Orioles
AL: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox

NL: Charlie Blackmon, Colorado Rockies
NL: Christian Yelich, Miami Marlins
NL: Yoenis Cespedes, New York Mets

AL: David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox
NL: Jake Arrieta, Chicago Cubs